Samael Gyre does the Deep Cuts Writer Meme

stewart_eugeneI was 8 when I first realized I wanted to be a writer. It was summer and I wrote a story called “The Big Fish” which I still have. It dawned on me that people did this for a living and that I could, too. I was hooked. Never have made a living, though.

I write to speak the unspoken and show the hidden. I call it Ficta Mystica, or mystical realism.

When I’m writing, I drink coffee & herbal tea.

What’s the line that you’re most proud of writing, the one you keep going back to in your mind? — None come to mind, I am a process writer, not a goal writer.

My favorite writing advice book is the one in my head I’ve culled on my own over the years.

I’m most comfortable wearing clothes when I write. Send a photo of yourself in it, if you’re comfortable with that.

Pen, typewriter, or computer? Pen and computer these days, have used all forms of typewriter too.

When I was a teenager, I wrote about strange things, same as now.

My writing style most closely resembles that of me speaking, and yes, I really do talk that way.

If you ever decided to write hardcore erotica, what would your pseudonym be? I do write hardcore erotica as Everett Bedford. It is the best in the business and is available through Pink Flamingo books and elsewhere. Three novels so far. You can find links on my website at genestewart.com/wordpress

I come up with my best ideas… I am a process writer, not an idea writer; I find stories that rely on ideas to be like wind-up toys. That being said, I write everywhere I am. I carry a notebook and pen, I keep a journal, and I make notes on my iPhone and so on, too..

Where do you write? See my photo above, that’s my office just off the kitchen.

I have far too many unpublished stories/novels/poems in my trunk.

I’d trade places with the author named Samael Gyre any day.

Writing is an avocation, not a profession.

I write and read and love poetry.

Ten years from now, my writing will be a decade older and I hope a decade wiser.

The resource book/website I use most when writing is Ralan or Duotrope if I’m peddling short fiction, otherwise it’s all revelatory visits from cloud beings that glow blue.

All I need to make my writing career grow is to publish novels and have them prove popular enough that people will pay for them despite the apparent death of respect for intellectual property.

I prefer to write. Period.

What do you want the epitaph on your grave to say? SOON.

Samael Gyre, aka Gene Stewart, has a website. Go see!

Leave a Reply

