Sara Taylor does the Deep Cuts Writer Meme

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI was possibly delusional when I first realized I wanted to be a writer. And then I forgot and re-encountered that realization over and over for at least a decade before sitting down and learning how to write.

I write because not writing isn’t an option.

When I’m writing, I drink whiskey, vodka, port, or tea. Usually not all at once.

What’s the line that you’re most proud of writing, the one you keep going back to in your mind? (Tell us what work it’s in, if you want.) I’m more likely to remember bad lines and cringe. Anything I like too much is inevitably cut. Though there was a line in a 10th grade history essay: “Bubonic Plague swept through Europe like a truckload of prunes through a short grandmother.” The teacher wasn’t impressed.

My favorite writing advice book is Negotiating with the Dead.

I’m most comfortable wearing hiking socks and yesterday’s clothes from under the bed when I write. Send a photo of yourself in it, if you’re comfortable with that.

Pen, typewriter, or computer? Either pen or computer, depending on the inclination of the narrative. Occasionally text message, for poetry that hits me when I’m driving.

When I was a teenager, I wrote about epic journeys with twist endings.

My writing style most closely resembles a bottle of wine knocked off a shelf so that the spreading stain slowly takes on the shape of the name of the man that killed your mother. Or whomever I’m borrowing from at the moment.

If you ever decided to write hardcore erotica, what would your pseudonym be? To tell that would completely defeat the purpose of having a pseudonym. But I can say that she likes corsets and floppy black hats and is drafting a novel.

I come up with my best ideas when I don’t have the time to write them down – usually while I’m packing up to go to a writing workshop.

Where do you write? Often on the move – train carriages are wonderful because you can’t get out and there isn’t anything to do that you didn’t bring with you. At my desk or in bed, or in the study carrels in the library, or outside when I’ve gone for a day hike and brought a notebook with me. When I was eleven I started carrying the notebooks with my novel drafts in them everywhere, so by now the one thing I’m good at is starting right up where I left off.

I have give or take one hundred/ at least seven/ too many to count unpublished stories/novels/poems in my trunk.

I’d trade places with the author named [author name] any day. I’d trade with anyone that had eight figures tucked away in the bank – then I’d be able to concentrate on writing instead of finding ways to eat. When I grow up (if I grow up) I want to be Margaret Atwood.

Writing is a discipline as much as an art.

I memorize poetry. When it hits me in the right way. I have no idea how to write poetry, and doubly no idea how to workshop other people’s poetry.

Ten years from now, my writing will be better, I pray to God. Also read.

The resource book/website I use most when writing is dependent on the piece. Possibly the OED.

All I need to make my writing career grow are a room of my own and a thick skin.

I prefer to write in the morning or late at night, whatever is demanding most insistently to be taken up.

What do you want the epitaph on your grave to say? “I told you I would never want kids!” if I don’t outlive my aunts, otherwise an invitation to graveyard enthusiasts to enjoy the nice grass and take rubbings.

Visit Sara Taylor’s website.

Leave a Reply

